Age-friendly Communities Recognition Award (Program)

Since 2012, BC Healthy Communities Society and the BC Ministry of Health have recognized 45 communities across the province for completing the four milestones in the Age-friendly Communities process.

Each of the recognized communities demonstrates unique approaches to promoting and creating Age-friendly Communities. Making communities age-friendly is one of the most effective strategies to promote healthy and active aging, and contributes to the creation of sustainable, healthy communities.

" The cornerstone of the Age-friendly BC Recognition program is healthy, thriving and resilient communities. We share this vision, and that's why we're proud to support Age-friendly BC Recognition awards." - Jodi Mucha, Executive Director BC Healthy Communities

Getting Recognized

If your community has already completed basic steps towards becoming age-friendly, your local government can apply to have your community officially recognized as an Age-friendly British Columbia community. To become officially recognized, communities need to complete four steps:

  1. Establish an Age-friendly Committee
  2. Pass a Local Council or District Board Resolution
  3. Conduct an Age-friendly Assessment
  4. Develop and Publish an Action Plan

This four-step approach was adapted from the Pan-Canadian Age-friendly Communities Recognition Initiative. 

Check out a Summary list of all past recipients here.


Download the Age-friendly Recognition award application form here.

For more information on Age-friendly Communities contact:

Sarah Ravlic,  Healthy-Community Planner
T: (250) 590-8442





Links & Resources

Focus Areas: Age Friendly
Service Types: Workshops, Webinars & Events , Facilitation & Consultation